Hannibal Regional Auxiliary Recognizes Excellence in Their Volunteers

Pictured (L to R): Todd Ahrens, President and CEO of Hannibal Regional Healthcare System; Sharon Laser, Auxilian and Volunteer of the Year; Alicia Rollins, Director of Guest and Volunteer Services and Dr. Wendy Harrington, CEO of Hannibal Regional Foundation.

Sharon Laser was named Hannibal Regional Auxiliary’s Volunteer of the Year at the annual Service Awards luncheon on April 24, 2017 at the Hannibal Country Club.

Sharon has been an Auxiliary member for over 15 years giving her time in various ways, but mostly with the Sewing and Puppet Committee.  She has served over 4,000 hours and was nominated for this award by several Auxilians who serve with her on the Sewing Committee.  A member of the committee said, “Sharon is a caring, unselfish, hardworking volunteer who is willing to go to the highest limits to serve not only Hannibal Regional, but other organizations as well.  She is a delight to work with as a volunteer and truly cares about everyone she volunteers with.”

Sharon consistently considers others before her own needs and is extremely creative. She loves to quilt, knit, embroider, crochet and sew. In addition to volunteering with Hannibal Regional Auxiliary, Sharon has also volunteered in local schools to assist students with reading and is a member of a local Quilting Guild that makes quilts for Shriners, the Battered Women’s Shelter, and other groups.

The President’s Call to Service award was presented to Bette Durbin.

Another very special award presented this year was the President’s Call to Service Award which was presented to Bette Durbin. Bette has been a member of the Auxiliary for more than 10 years and has given over 6,500 lifetime hours.

In addition to the Volunteer of the Year award and the President’s Call to Service Award, the Service Awards Luncheon included presenting Honorary Memberships to Katherine Bier, Becky Wilt, Julia Lafuse, Russell Howell, Neleta Yount and Kay Adams.  Special Recognitions were presented to Carol Wilhoit, Donna Buckwalter, Karen Sutor, Kim Ahrens, Gerry Lehenbauer and Nancy Cruse. Two Outstanding New Member awards were given this year to Kenneth Ayers and Debra Johnson. Outstanding Contribution to a New Program was given to Mary Dunaway for her work with the Pet Therapy program.